Skip Navigation

“The Sportsmanship Award is the most important award

a team can receive.


  Years from now,  you may not remember the score

       or if you won or lost a game, but you will remember

    how you played the game.”

                                                                                                   - Shane Slaton, former science teacher and coach
HCS competes in the Front Range Christian Athletic Association. FRCAA follows similar rules and guidelines as CHSAA, Colorado High School Activities Association.
“In athletics, the emphasis is about being good as a person. Coaches focus less on winning,
and focus on the team co-operating, more like you learn how to deal with difficult people.
                           It’s part of life. The team makes it fun.” - Hyland athlete                                                                                                      
Basketball Sportsmanship Awards
Mens – 2008, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019
Womens  – 2014, 2015, 2017, 2019
   Jr. High Boys – 2015
Volleyball Sportsmanship Awards
     Womens  – 2019
Soccer Sportsmanship Awards
Womens  – 2008, 2010, 2013, 2014
"Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind
let each esteem others better than himself.
Let each of you look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others."
 - Philippians 2:3-4